Love Can Save You


I was sitting in the old armchair that have faded within the years. Bill for sure would have picked her from the rubbish, definitely. My head terribly ached and I thought it was going to break so I was clasping it in my two hands. I had already shaved it completely and I could see the veins casting angrily like they wanted to get out and leave. I was six days clean from drugs and dirty, almost a week without having a shower. Six days without drugs, incredible. I had to endure this time, I had placed a bet with myself. I began to tremble, though it was warm enough inside the room and on the top of my body I was not wearing anything. But that is the deprivation.

A cigarette would be just great right now. But I did not have any. I searched the room carefully, nothing. I went to the other room where Bill was sleeping. He had slept for two days now, I do not know, he may have died. However cigarettes was not something that he had. I bent over and looked under the bed. On the edge I saw a half-butt. I snuggled beneath, stretched myself and with my fingers I reached it. Great joy. I lit it immediately and I sucked what have left of the cigarette with just one breath. That was good, it would keep me for a while and I would probably chill up a little bit, and maybe get some sleep. I went and sank back into the old chair.

I finally woke up after five hours, and it was almost dark outside. My head was feeling heavy still. I felt like I had a heavy bag on top of my head, like the ones, they have these black women in Africa. I went to drink some water. I felt very weak, my legs kept me no more. I laid back in the armchair. Deprivation was really intense now. I could not stand still and my body reacted in a bad way. What would I do? I was in a furious state. My eye caught, a white classic, simple keychain. It had been given to me by the rehab sessions I have been. To be honest, I went there just once. They gave other colours as well, but the white meant that I haven’t taken my dose for one day. One day. No big deal. Bullshit.

I had to do something. I did not have money for even one dose. I went inside and began searching Bill’s pockets hoping that I would find something, but in vain. A dose would be alright, and would keep me for a while. I said that I will not backslide again, to fool myself. But we all know that if you have been addicted, several times with a hundred times has no difference, and you backslide again. I sat back in the chair and tried to think of something. Until I looked at my fingers, my wedding ring with which I mechanically played. I was wearing it even it was about one year, almost, that I have broken up with my wife. I used to say to her that I would stop taking my dose and now I haven’t even stopped. Now I do not need my wedding ring I thought, it is completely useless. I took it and I lifted up. I looked inside. We had carved the date of our wedding. Does she still have her own? It was pure gold, it would give me good money. I have put it in my pocket, I wore a T-shirt that I found in front of me and I took my coat. I began to walk, until the pawn shop.

I was hurry enough in the road because time has passed and I did not know if I would anticipate it open. What would I do after? I was in a desperate situation. The pawn shops must stay overnight like the pharmacies, I thought. After twenty minutes I had arrived. It was the entrance first, and in the middle of the room there were bars. It was like entering a cell. In the background behind it was safe. He never opened the cell to get out. You were passing him through the bars, whatever you wanted, he then was taking it, weighed it and after all these he was giving you the money. He knew me, because sometimes, I brought other crap. Nothing important, but trifles.

“Hi Makis, what you brought me today? Some kind of pin again.”
I pulled out my wedding ring and gave it to him. He took it in his hand and weighed it, quickly. After he lifted it to the light and looked at it with the lens.
“Sixty euros Maki.” He said.
“What? But I bought it a hundred and fifty euros! Pure gold. Come on?”
“Sixty euros Maki.”
“Yeah, well take it”. I was pissed off with that slimy guy.

He went to the safe and opened it. He put inside the ring and he gave me the money. He has given them through the bars. I hastily grabbed them and left without even saying hello.

Sixty euros, I thought. The thief, he is taking advantage of people in need. Anyway, I took sixty euros that make us, two doses. I went straight for the dealer piazza that was on the other side of town. I felt the strength of my legs to drop slowly. I was almost dragging my feet, I was no longer walking. I arrived after almost an hour. I found the dealer.

“I want two” I said.
“Sixty,” he answered.

I give him the money and he walks away. That was the way of dealing drugs now. They won’t keep the doses in their standing place. Many times things went wrong and they had lost a lot of money. Luckily the prices have not changed and I was able to get two doses. Lately, though the doses were not strong enough and two doses were needed in order to get high. The dealer came after a minute with two small papers in his hands. We shook hands and then I left. I went straight home. I could not wait to take my dose. I felt like a little kid who’s been given a gift and I could not wait to open it.

After another hour I have finally arrived home. As I walked quickly I became really sweaty. I removed my blouse over me, and threw it on the chair. I went into the kitchen to get the paraphernalia. They have been always there, hiding in the coffee cupboard. Bill was still asleep- now I was sure that he had died. I returned to the room and placed the things needed on the table. I put out the two doses from my pocket, and I slowly began to prepare. It was difficult to find a vein. All of my veins have been destroyed by the needles. Finally, I found one that has escaped. It was down in the leg and I took my dose. I immediately prepared and the second, and I did it also quickly. Anyway, with the first one, I did not understand a thing.

It began to travel really slowly inside me and I felt the freeze in my veins as I felt the effect of my dose. My body eased now, and at the moment I found my sobriety. After a while the headache passed that kept for almost three days. So I left everything on the table and went to fall again asleep in the worn armchair. I smiled a bit and then I thought, what a low level have I reached to give my wedding ring so to take my dose. It was certainly the first time I have done something like that. Love has saved me other times as well. From tomorrow I will stop taking drugs, like the other times. I felt asleep in the armchair….

Spyros Voltakis

I was born one day. It was January the 1st, 1990 and I started traveling. Suddenly on my roαd I found my words and began to gather all of them so as to make a treasure that people would see and make them lose their train of thoughts.

You can find the original short story written by Spyros Voltakis in Greek Language right underneath

Η Αγάπη Σώζει

Καθόμουν στην παλιά ξεθωριασμένη πολυθρόνα. Σίγουρα ο Μπιλύ θα την είχε σουφρώσει από τα σκουπίδια ήταν σίγουρο. Το κεφάλι μου πονούσε τρομερά πήγαινε να σπάει το έσφιγγα μέσα στα δυο μου χέρια. Το είχα ξυρίσει κιόλας εντελώς και μπορούσα να καταλάβω τις φλέβες που πετιόνταν αγριεμένες σαν να ήθελαν να βγουν έξω και να φύγουν. Ήμουν έξι μέρες καθαρός και μια βδομάδα βρώμικος χωρίς μπάνιο. Έξι μέρες χωρίς πρέζα απίστευτο. Έπρεπε να αντέξω αυτή την φορά το είχα βάλει στοίχημα με τον εαυτό μου. Άρχισα να τρέμω αν και είχε αρκετή ζεστή μέσα στο δωμάτιο και από πάνω δεν φορούσα τίποτα. Έτσι είναι όμως η στέρηση.
Ένα τσιγάρο θα ήταν ότι έπρεπε αυτή την στιγμή. Αλλά δεν είχα πάνω μου. Έψαξα στο δωμάτιο τίποτα. Πήγα στο άλλο που κοιμόταν ο Μπιλύ. Είχε ξεραθεί κοιμόταν εδώ και δυο μέρες δεν ξέρω μπορεί και να είχε πεθάνει τσιγάρα πάντως δεν είχε ούτε αυτός. Έσκυψα και κοίταξα κάτω από το κρεβάτι και στην άκρη – άκρη είδα μια μίση γόπα. Στριμώχτηκα από κάτω τεντώθηκα και με τα δάχτυλα μου την γράπωσα. Μεγάλη χαρά. Την άναψα αμέσως και την ρούφηξα με την μια όλη χωρίς ανάσα. Αυτό ήταν καλό θα με κρατούσε για καμία ώρα και θα ηρεμούσα λίγο ίσως κοιμόμουν και λίγο. Πήγα και βούλιαξα πάλι στην πολυθρόνα.
Τελικά ξύπνησα μετά από πέντε ώρες σχεδόν είχε νυχτώσει. Το κεφάλι μου παρέμενε βαρύ. Το ένιωθα σαν να είχα κανένα τσουβάλι από πάνω σαν αυτές τις μαύρες στην Αφρική. Πήγα να πιω λίγο νερό. Ένιωθα μεγάλη αδυναμία, τα ποδιά μου δεν με κρατούσαν πλέον ξαναέπεσα στην πολυθρόνα. Η στέρηση ήταν μεγάλη πλέον δεν μπορούσα να την αντέξω το σώμα μου αντιδρούσε. Τι να έκανα ήμουν σε συνγχισει. Το μάτι μου έπεσε σε ένα άσπρο κλασσικό απλό μπρελόκ. Μου το είχαν δώσει από τις συνεδρίες καθαρισμού που πήγαινα και παρακολουθούσα βασικά μια φορά πήγα. Έδιναν και αλλά χρώματα το άσπρο που πήρα σήμαινε μια μέρα καθαρός. Μια μέρα σιγά το πράγματα. Μαλακίες.
Κάτι έπρεπε να κάνω. Δεν είχα και χρήματα ούτε για μια δόση. Πήγα μέσα και άρχισα να ψάχνω τις τσέπες του Μπιλύ μπας και βρω τίποτα αλλά μάταια. Μια δόση θα ήταν εντάξει θα με κρατούσε για λίγο και δεν θα ξανακυλούσα πάλι έλεγα για να κοροϊδέψω τον εαυτό. Αλλά όλοι ξέρουμε ότι αν έχεις εθιστεί δεν έχει διάφορα μια με εκατό το ίδιο είναι πάλι ξανακυλάς. Κάθισα πάλι στην πολυθρόνα και προσπαθούσα να σκεφτώ κάτι. Ώσπου κοίταξα τα δάχτυλα μου τα οποία έπαιζαν μηχανικά με την βέρα μου. Ακόμα την φορούσα αν και κόντευε ένας χρόνος σχεδόν που είχα χωρίσει με την γυναίκα μου. Όλο τις έλεγα ότι θα ξεκόψω θα καθαρίσω ακόμα καθαρίζω. Πλέον δεν την χρειάζομαι σκέφτηκα μου είναι εντελώς άχρηστη. Την έβγαλα και την σήκωσα ψηλά. Κοίταξα από μέσα τις είχαμε χαράξει με την ημερομηνία του γάμου μας. Άραγε αυτή θα την έχει φυλάξει την δικιά της; Ήταν καθαρό χρυσαφί θα έπιανε καλά λεφτά. Την έβαλα στην τσέπη μου έβαλα μια μπλούζα που βρήκα μπροστά μου πήρα και το παλτό μου και τράβηξα καρφί για το ενεχυροδανειστήριο.
Βιαζόμουν αρκετά στον δρόμο γιατί είχε περάσει η ώρα και δεν ήξερα αν θα το προλάβαινα ανοιχτό και μετά τη θα έκανα ήμουν σε απελπιστική κατάσταση. Θα έπρεπε να τα κάνουν και αυτά σαν τα φαρμακεία να διανυκτερεύουν κάποια σκέφτηκα. Μετά από είκοσι λεπτά είχα φτάσει. Είχε την είσοδο και στην μέση του δωματίου είχε κάγκελα σαν να μπαίνεις σε ένα κελί. Στο βάθος πίσω από αυτόν είχε το χρηματοκιβώτιο. Δεν άνοιγε ποτέ το κελί για να βγει έξω. Του περνούσες ότι ήθελες μέσα από τα κάγκελα το έπαιρνε, το ζύγιζε και σου έδινε τα λεφτά. Εμένα με ήξερε για του έφερνα καμία φορά και τίποτα άλλες βλακείες που μου είχαν ξεμείνει τίποτα σπουδαίο όμως μικροπράγματα.
“Γεια Μάκη τι μου έφερες σήμερα; Καμία καρφίτσα πάλι. ”
Έβγαλα και του έδωσα την βέρα μου. Την πήρε στο χέρι του και την ζύγισε έτσι στην παλάμη του βιάστηκα. Μετά την σήκωσε στο φως και την κοίταξε με τον φακό. Την πέταξε στην ζυγαριά.
“Εξήντα ευρώ Μάκη.” είπε.
“Τι; Μα την πήρα εκατόν πενήντα καθαρός χρυσός. Έλα τώρα;”
“Εξήντα ευρώ Μάκη.”
” Ο καλά άντε παρτην”.Με είχε νευριάσει ο γλοιώδες.
Πήγε στον χρηματοκιβώτιο το άνοιξε έβαλε μέσα την βέρα μου και πήρα τα λεφτά. Μου τα έδωσε μέσα από τα κάγκελα. Τα άρπαξα βιαστικά και έφυγα χωρίς να του πω ούτε γεια.
Εξήντα ευρώ σκέφτηκα. Τον παλιοκλεφτη βρίσκει και τα κάνει. Τέλος πάντων με εξήντα έπαιρνα δυο δόσεις. Τράβηξα κατευθείαν για την πιάτσα ήταν στην άλλη μεριά της πόλης και εγώ νιώθω τα ποδιά μου να με εγκαταλείπουν σιγά-σιγά. Σχεδόν τα έσερνα δεν περπατούσα πλέον. Μετά από μια ώρα έφτασα σχεδόν. Βρήκα το βαποράκι.
“Δυο θέλω” του λέω.
“Εξήντα” μου λέει.
Του δίνω τα λεφτά και φεύγει. Έτσι γινόταν πλέον δεν κρατούσαν το πράγμα πάνω τους γιατί τους την είχαν πέσει πολλές φορές και είχαν χάσει πολύ πράγμα έτσι. Πάλι καλά που δεν άλλαξαν οι τιμές και μπόρεσα να πάρω δυο δόσεις γιατί τώρα τελευταία δεν τις κάνουν και πολύ δυνατές και θέλεις δυο για να σε πιάσουν. Το βαποράκι ήρθε μετά από ένα λεπτό με τα δυο χαρτάκια στα χέρια του. Δώσαμε χειραψία και έφυγα. Τράβηξα κατευθείαν για το σπίτι δεν έβλεπα την ώρα να την χτυπήσω. Ένοιωθα σαν μικρό παιδάκι που του έχουν δώσει το δώρο του και δεν βλέπει την ώρα να το ανοίξει.
Μετά από άλλη μια ώρα είχα φτάσει στο σπίτι. Επειδή περπατούσα γρήγορα είχα γίνει μούσκεμα. Έβγαλα την μπλούζα και τη πέταξα στην καρεκλά. Πήγα στην κουζίνα για να πάρω τα σύνεργα πάντα εκεί τα βάζαμε στο ντουλάπι με τον καφέ. Ο Μπιλύ ακόμα κοιμόταν πλέον ήμουν σίγουρος πως τα είχε τινάξει. Γύρισα στο δωμάτιο και τα άπλωσα στο τραπέζι. Έβγαλα και τις δυο δόσεις μου από την τσέπη του παντελονιού μου και άρχισα σιγά να τις προετοιμάζω. Ήταν δύσκολο να βρω φλέβα είχαν καταστραφεί όλες από τις βελόνες. Τελικά κατάφερα και βρήκα μια που είχε γλιτώσει κάτω στο πόδι και την βάρεσα. Αμέσως προετοίμασα και την δεύτερη και την έκανα και αυτήν αμέσως. Έτσι και αλλιώς με την πρώτη δεν είχα καταλάβει και τίποτα.
Άρχισε να κυλάει σιγά – σιγά μέσα μου και να την νιώθω να παγώνει τις φλέβες μου καθώς η πρέζα ταξίδευε μέσα μου. Τα νεύρα μου πλέον χαλάρωσαν και έβρισκα πλέον την νηφαλιότητα μου. Μετά από λίγο πέρασε και ο πονοκέφαλος που κρατούσε εδώ και τρεις μέρες. Τα παράτησα έτσι όλα χύμα πάνω στο τραπέζι και πήγα και ξεράθηκα πάλι στην φθαρμένη πολυθρόνα. Χαμογέλασα λίγο και μετά σκέφτηκα πόσο χαμηλά είχα πέσει να δίνω την βέρα μου για την πρέζα μου. Δεν ήταν βέβαια η πρώτη φορά που είχα κάνει κάτι τετοιο.Η αγάπη με είχε σώσει και άλλες φορές. Από αύριο θα καθαρίσω είπα όπως και τις άλλες φορές. Με πήρε ο ύπνος στην πολυθρόνα.

Leave a Reply

